Top banner
Like us On Facebook
Thursday May 19, 2016 at 2:55pm Age: 3 yrs
Category: District, High School


Thirty-two Minisink Valley middle and high school students were recently honored for their achievements in varying categories at the 26th Annual Sojourner Truth Awards ceremony, a program of the Orange County Community College (OCCC).  Among them was a high school student who was awarded a scholarship by the OCCC Foundation.

The Sojourner Truth Awards Program celebrates the cultural diversity of Orange County youth, recognizes the accomplishments of students and empowers them to pursue their education goals.

Student honorees are nominated by their teachers for achievements in the categories of Athletics, Citizenship, Creative Arts, Diversity, English Language Arts, Foreign Languages, Mathematics, Perseverance/Effort, Sciences, and Technology.

High school honorees were: Jennifer Francois, Rebekah Goetz, Jasmine Lites, Ayanna Martine, O’Livia McIntosh, Laina Michel, Jaimie Polanco, Mariah Rodriguez, Taisha Santiago, and Yadais Trinidad Colon. Yadais was one of four students countywide to receive a $2,500 scholarship.

Awarded middle school students were: Blanca Ayala Santana, Behailu Bekele-Arcuri, Aniah Fierro, Destiny Garzon, Camille Giordano, Jaylin Gomez, James Henriques, Naomi Hernandez, Cleo Hong, Ariana Marquez, Christian Meyer, Hayley Neesen, Victoria Neidnig, Nataly Pena, Yanira Perez Gomez, Wan Rong Qiu, Emilee Rodolfo, Kaitlyn Rojas, Humza Shah, Penelope Sierra, Mia Vizcaino.

Congratulations to all!