High School’s 2022 yearbook named Quill and Scroll’s ‘Class A’ First Place Cover Design national winner

2022 yearbook cover

The High School’s 2022 yearbook staff has been named the “Class A” First Place Cover Design National Winner in Quill and Scroll’s 2022 Yearbook Excellence Contest.

The contest is one of two national contests sponsored annually by the Minneapolis-based Quill and Scroll International Honorary Society for High School Journalists. The group’s mission is to encourage and recognize individual student achievement in journalism and scholastic publication.

The yearbook cover is created by the entire yearbook staff through a series of brainstorming sessions, drawings, and digital artwork mockups. The cover idea is then sent to the publisher for the finishing touches to accommodate things like binding and namestamping.

yearbook staff

Three yearbook staff members are members of the Class of 2022; seven have continued their work on the 2023 yearbook. The 2022 yearbook team was: Ann Borek, Jaelynn Cabrera, Lara Devine, Molly Dubner, Dayana Luna Ramirez, Sydney Michelitch, Riley Nelson, Leah Saunders, Sofia Speranza and Emmy Stewart.

“I clicked on the link Friday (Dec. 9)  just before yearbook class started,” said yearbook advisor Kat Hoolan. “Seeing Minisink listed for an award filled me with so much excitement and pride I was about to explode, but I had to contain my joy until all the students got to the classroom. I’m so proud I got to share this honor and see the students be recognized for their hard work.”

2022 Quill and Scroll Yearbook Excellence Contest Winners