High School’s 2023 yearbook named Quill and Scroll’s ‘Class A’ First Place Cover Design national winner

2023 high school yearbook cover

The 2023 staff of Valé, the High School’s yearbook, has been named the “Class A” First Place Cover Design National Winner in Quill and Scroll’s 2023 Yearbook Excellence Contest.

night time at High school with cameraThis is the is the second consecutive year that Valé’s cover was named Quill and Scroll’s first place cover design national winner.

The yearbook cover is created by the entire yearbook staff through a series of brainstorming sessions, drawings, and digital artwork mockups. The cover idea is then sent to the publisher for the finishing touches to accommodate things like binding and namestamping.

details about cover“To be recognized among the top programs in the country is a huge honor. As a staff we first create our product for the school community,” said Kat Hoolan, yearbook advisor.   “We are very aware that yearbooks are kept for years and strive to create a book to represent the year and our school. The hours upon hours we spent last year are for the students. I’ll never forget being at the school until 10 p.m. with the seniors the day before our final deadline running the index. Sending out for contests and critiques is the icing on the cake. This is one way we keep the book fresh and on trend for our readers.”

yearbook staff

The 2023 Valé Yearbook Staff were:  Sofia Speranza, editor-in-chief;  Sydney Michelitch, business editor; Emmy Stewart, senior copy editor; Leah Saunders. junior copy editor; Riley Nelson, index editor; Lara Devine, calendar manager; along with staff members Hannah Cohen, Samantha Kassel, Erica LoCicero, Dayana Luna Ramirez, Alexa McKane, Victoria Melton, Ella Michelitch, Chloe Peterson, Aislyn Struble, Alexis Suarez and  Olivia Wieboldt. Advisors are Kat Hoolan and Laura Lalor.  Seven of last year’s staff have returned to work on the 2024 edition.

Former studentsThree Class of 2023 members were a part of the staff last year. They are: Sofia Speranza, who now attends Pace University; Emmy Stewart, who attends Stevens Institute of Technology; and Riley Nelson, who now attends SUNY Geneseo.

The contest is one of two national contests sponsored annually by the Minneapolis-based Quill and Scroll International Honorary Society for High School Journalists. The group’s mission is to encourage and recognize individual student achievement in journalism and Quill and Scroll logoscholastic publication.

Quill and Scroll’s 2023 Yearbook Excellence Contest winners